Saturday, 10 February 2018

DVD & Blu-Ray List 2017 [Feb 2018 update]

As of 11/02/2018
DVD.

  • American Gangster/ Gladiator/ Black Hawk Down steelcase [18] (2007, 2000, 2001)
  • The Color Purple [15] (1985)
  • Kids [18] (1995)
  • Panic Room [15] (2002)
  • Punch Drunk Love [15] (2003)
  • Return To Oz [PG] (1985)
  • Let The Right One In [15] (2008)
  • The Prestige [12] 2006
  • Adventure Time Season 2 [U] (2011)
  • Pipkins Volume 2 [U] (1973 - 1985)

BLU- RAY.

  • Antichrist [18] (2009)
  • Evil Dead [18] (2013)
  • Ghost in the Shell [15] (1995)
  • Hellraiser [18] (1987)
  • La Planete Sauvage [PG] (1973)
  • Ratatouille [PG] (2007)
  • Saw 7-Film Colection [18] (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010)
  • John Wick Chapters 1 & 2 [15] (2014, 2017)
  • Batman [15] (1989)

Saturday, 3 February 2018

2013 Mammoth movie meme because the other one I did was god awful

1. A movie you’ve seen most times in cinema.

I have never seen a film twice in a cinema, mainly because of the cost, and the fact cinemas rarely show films twice nowadays.

2. Your most rewatched movie.

Either Jaws or Hot Fuzz. Both are pretty endlessly re-watchable films; with just enough added detail to make you appreciate something new on each watch.

3. A movie you quote on a daily basis.

Either Dougal and the Blue Cat or Birdman. Both surprisingly have incredibly quotable lines, ones I find myself using often, even if nobody gets them (which actually is way better than if they did).

4. Favourite movie soundtrack.

In terms of soundtrack I'd have to say Green Room. 
This soundtrack matches almost every theme, idea and character in the film. The emotions it can elicit in me is staggering, coming from a bunch of foreboding instrumental and abstract scores as well as hardcore punk tracks included.
A proper good one with just enough fun and fear mixed together.

5. Top 5 films of your favourite actor and actress.

[In no order of favourite for film or actor]


  • Robert De Niro: Heat, The Deer Hunter, Taxi Driver, The Godfather Part 2 and Midnight Run.
  • Diane Keaton: The Godfather, The Godfather Part 2, Annie Hall and Manhattan.

6. Top 5 performances of your favourite actor and actress.

[In no order of favourite for film or actor]


  • Robert De Niro: Heat, The Deer Hunter, Taxi Driver, The Godfather Part 2 and Midnight Run.
  • Diane Keaton: The Godfather, The Godfather Part 2, Annie Hall and Manhattan.
 7. A movie storyline you wish you had actually lived.


Fantastic Mr. Fox
Always wanted to live underground in my own little space where I could just pop up anywhere I want and have all the things I need in life there, ready to be taken down into my little living space.

eh, I tried..

8. A movie that reminds you of your mum.

Although it's a rather nasty and depressing movie, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street will always remind me of my mum mainly for its cast and the songs. My mum loves just about everyone in the cast and even if a lot of people are mixed on the movie, we can still appreciate it.

9. A movie that reminds you of your dad.

Jaws. The mimicking scene between Brody and his son. 

Why? Dunno.

10. Favourite movies from your childhood.

  1. Dougal and the Blue Cat
  2. Jaws
  3. Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory
  4. The Incredibles
  5. The Transformers: The Movie
  6. Who Framed Roger Rabbit
  7. Return To Oz
  8. Spirited Away
  9. Doctor Who (1996)
  10. Toy Story
11. Favourite quote(s).

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Riggan: Just find me an actor. A good actor. Give me Woody Harrelson.
Jake: He's doing the next Hunger Games.
Riggan: Michael Fassbender?
Jake: He's doing the prequel to the X-Men prequel.
Riggan: How about Jeremy Renner?
Jake: Who?
Riggan: Jeremy Renner. He was nominated. He was the Hurt Locker guy.
Jake: Oh, okay. He's an Avenger.
Riggan: Fuck, they put him in a cape too?

Synecdoche, New York
Adult Olive: I need to forgive you before I die... but I can't forgive someone who has not asked for forgiveness.
Caden Cotard: I just want...
Adult Olive: I have no time. I need you to ask for forgiveness.
Caden Cotard: Can you ever forgive me?
Adult Olive: For what?
Caden Cotard: For abandoning you.
Adult Olive: For abandoning you to have anal sex with my homosexual lover, Eric.
Caden Cotard: I will, I'll say it... For abandoning you... to have anal sex with my homosexual lover, Eric.
Adult Olive: No...
[Starts crying]
Adult Olive: No, I'm sorry. I cannot-
[Dies]
Maria: I hope you are happy, faggot.

Dougal and the Blue Cat
Dougal: Stay as long as you like, the train leaves at three.

12. Top 5 favourite female performances.
  1. Amy Adams in Arrival
  2. Rosamund Pike in Gone Girl
  3. Kim Tae-ri in The Handmaiden
  4. Emma Stone in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  5. Maggie Gyllenhaal in Secretary ((Or The Dark Knight, I can't decide))
13. Top 5 favourite male performances.

  1. Michael Keaton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  2. Philip Seymour Hoffman in Synecdoche, New York
  3. Marlon Brando in The Godfather
  4. Kevin Spacey in L.A. Confidential
  5. Ryan Gosling in Blade Runner 2049
14.  Favourite year for movies. 

2014. Not only did this year see the release of the best film about a Birdman ever made, but we also saw the likes of Whiplash, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Nightcrawler, Gone Girl, Guardians of the Galaxy, John Wick, The Lego Movie, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, The Raid 2 and Leviathan.

So yeah, one of the most impressive years for film in recent times, even if last year was pretty excellent too.

15. Your favourite movies from [insert year].

The random year is 2009 (AKA: the BEST year for Terminator sequels.)
  • Star Trek
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • Zombieland
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Coraline
  • A Serious Man
  • The Princess and the Frog
  • Drag Me To Hell
  • The Hurt Locker
  • Saw VI
16. Favourite [insert actor/actress/director] movies?

Favourite director is David Fincher but I've talked about him enough on this website, so here's my favourite Satoshi Kon movies ranked.

  1. Perfect Blue
  2. Paprika
  3. Tokyo Godfathers
  4. Millennium Actress
  5. Memories
17. List all you’ve seen from [insert actor/actress/director].

Ever feel like you're going around in circles?

David Fincher.
  • Se7en
  • Fight Club
  • The Social Network
  • Gone Girl
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • Zodiac
  • Alien^3
  • Panic Room
 18. An underrated actor.

Even though I've seen him in only one TV show (and yes, I'm gonna put a TV show on my list because the question didn't say otherwise), Hugh Dancy as Will Graham in Hannibal (2013 - '15) was one of the most astonishing performances I've ever seen on either of the screens, and it still continues to impress me to this day.

Even though the show is critically acclaimed and renowned in NBC's line- up, I still feel as though Hugh's exceptional performance, that never wavered for a nano- second during the three series, still doesn't get the attention it deserves by a long shot; a character and actor that'll stick in my mind for quite some time, I'm sure.

19. An underrated actress.


Whether or not "underrated" is the right word here, I don't really know, but  Pearl Mackie as Bill Potts (yes more TV: screw you, it's MY list) was exceptional in Series 10 of Doctor Who last year.

She was perfect in the roll, and completely subverted mine and dad's VERY low expectations for the character after the short companion teaser thingy the BBC showed a few months before the first trailer dropped for the series.

A very textured, aware and fun performance left me stunned and thinking of Bill as a companion we've had for years due to the level of depth Pearl added in her own subtle ways to an already good character.

Underrated? Underappreciated?
Who cares. Pearl needs more recognition for this role, yes.

20. An underrated director.

Never been a fan of the concepts of "under and overrated", especially within the context of film analysis. I try to never included these terms in reviews or simply thoughts I have in my head of something I'm watching.
They're pretty vapid and poorly used ways to start an argument where there shouldn't be one at all.

But apart from that, Kevin Smith sucks so hard it genuinely hurts me to see people enjoying his "movies". Especially his latest departure into horror.

21. An overrated actor.

Same thing applies here but I'll play along again.

Eddie Redmayne.


Watch Jupiter Ascending. Watch it.

This man won a fucking Academy AwardScreen Actors Guild AwardBafta AND a Golden Globe.

Enough said.

22. An overrated actress.

Natalie Portman.

She's been excused quite a few times now it seems. 
She was utteraly awful in Thors 1 and 2 and every Star Wars prequel.
People don't seem to get that Ryan Gosling's style of acting is a stone- faced, collected, worn- away person, and that he injects so much character and depth into each role; yet when Natalie does it, she's a godess and completely perfect in every way.
Ok.

23. An overrated director.

Del Toro.
Moving on.

24. A film you wish you had seen on the big screen.


  • The Godfather
  • Birdman, or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • Synecdoche, New York
  • Green Room
  • Dougal and the Blue Cat
  • Star wars
  • The Handmaiden
  • The Dark Knight
  • Arrival
  • The Raid
  • Fight Club
  • Gone Girl
  • The Wizard of Oz
  • Batman: The Mask of the Phantasm
  • The Transformers: The Movie
25. A movie you’ve seen that you think no one else here will have heard of?

Tickled. One of the best documentaries I've ever seen, up there with Tower (2016) and Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief.

A film that's both parts funny and angering, I still can't believe just how well made and interesting the documentary is, and how the further the film runs the more crazy and unbelievable it becomes.

A proper emotional ride that floored me when I first saw it for sure.


26. Favourite movie characters.



  • Dale Cooper from Twink Peaks: Fire Walk with Me
  • Caden Cotard from Synecdoche, New York
  • Riggan Thomson from Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • The Doctor from Doctor Who (1996)
  • Tyler Durden from Fight Club
  • Michael Corleone from The Godfather Part II
  • Vito Corleone from The Godfather
27. A film that was better than the book.

As much as dad will disagree with me, Gone Girl, I found exceeded the book 100% and transcended something very good to a masterpiece.

Yes, some characters don't get as much attention as they do in the book, but Fincher compensates by focusing on events and small details that eventually become much larger than the characters of some expository backstory to an abandoned mall or something.

At the end of the day, would I call Gone Girl (2012) a favourite? No.
Would I call Gone Girl (2014) a favourite? Yes.

28. Best remake.

29. Your first favourite actor.

Literally no idea, and if I did know I wouldn't say as it would probably be very embarrassing or just plain wrong.

30. Your first favourite actress.

Literally no idea, and if I did know I wouldn't say as it would probably be very embarrassing or just plain wrong.
























Thursday, 1 February 2018

Boring movie meme 2018

1. How often would you say you spend on your blog?

On average maybe two or three hours for writing reviews, my longest review is probably Gone Girl (which I will probably never finish and will never see the light of day) and I never reread my reviews, so no time reading my blog.

2. What has blogging taught you?

Honestly not much, don't see film or tv in any different ways.
I guess maybe I've learnt that I never stick to one thing and just hone all my effort into said thing.

3. Amy Adams or Natalie Portman?

I've only seen Natalie Portman in Thor, Thor 2 and The Phantom Menace.
So yeah, Amy Adams any day of the week please.

4. Walks along the beach or romantic meal inside?

Neither, next question.

5. Have you ever written in the nude?

What kind of question is this?
No.


6. What film had the biggest emotional impact on you?

Either Dougal and the Blue Cat or Transformers 2.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen taught me to hate shit movies and not accept them as the standard cinema- going experience.
Dougl and the Blue Cat is just wonderfully made, with most emotional beats hitting each time I watch.

7. What is your fondest memory from childhood?

Probably the two times I went to Spain with my Mum, Dad and Sister.
The last time I ever felt genuine emotion before faking it all to see how far I could get before people would figure out what I'd been doing.

8. Is there any scene you would love to recreate from a movie?

Is this question asking me what I'd like to recreate and take the credit for, or what scene I'd like to recreate by being in and living the events?
Anyway, any scene from The Darjeeling Limited.

9. Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

What a trite question for a movie meme.
Doing what I do now but probably attending either a University or some kind of boring job.

10. What film have you been meaning to watch for a long time, but just haven’t got the chance to?

Most likely The Holy Mountain. It's tough to get hold of a legal copy, especially on Blu- ray. I have been meaning to watch some Alejandro Jodorowsky films for some time and hope I can eventually watch at least one before I inevitably die in 2020.

11. What’s the worst movie you saw in 2016?

"This is Katana. She's got my back. I would advise not getting killed by her. Her sword traps the souls of its victims."

12. What movie do you quote the most?

Hot Fuzz. The best written comedy I’ve ever seen, and nothing has come close yet.



Well that was even more boring than I thought it was going to be.
Guess I'll tag the only person I know on this site: My dad.
Hope you enjoy, Glass Walking Stick!


























Sunday, 7 January 2018

The Last Jedi | Dumb + Entertaining = ?

Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi (Taken from my IMDB) review.

So this one was dumb, silly, goofy, contrived and in some cases pretty flawed... and yet that's what a Star Wars movie is.

Star Wars is not a perfect franchise by any means at all; I haven't  given any of the movies above a 7 in my head so far.
They're dumb, silly fun in space.
This one's better than the last two (Rogue One and The Force Awakens), but it's not quite as good as Empire Strikes Back.
So what?

It was fun, shot very well, had tonnes of character, lovely callbacks and memorable moments. That's all I want from a Star Wars movie, and also what I was expecting.

Pretty much all of the backlash is made up of nostalgia- blinded 20+ year old fans who hold the original trilogy up on the highest pedestal they can possibly erect.
Sure, the original three were groundbreaking at the time and shaped Hollywood for the better and worst, but none of them are masterpieces, or even come close; they're just dumb fun with an added dash of mysticism and classic Hollywood romanticism.
Nothing more, nothing less.

The Last Jedi was just as fun, but also as dumb, AND THATS OK.
7/10

Tuesday, 31 October 2017

Halloween 2017 DVD & BluRay List

So I've got more blu rays and dvds since the last update and am going to save a lot of time and just note down the new ones.

DVD
  • Drive [18] (2011)
  • A Single Man [12] (2009)
Blu Ray
  • Anomalisa [15] (2015)
  • Arrival [12] (2016)
  • Audition [18] (2001)
  • Battle Royale [18] (2000)
  • The Departed [18] (2006)
  • The Hurt Locker [15] (2009)
  • Nocturnal Animals [15] (2016)
  • Oldboy [18] (2004)
  • The Texas Chainsaw Massacre [18] (1974)
  • Theater of Blood (Much Ado About Murder) [15] (1973)

Why can't David Fincher suck?

I've mentioned David Fincher a few times before, but have never outright talked about him and his films as a whole.
Put simply, the man's a genius behind the camera, and easily my favourite director.

He's made films better than entire careers of lesser directors, he's made thousands and thousands of people demand better crafted films because of his control over a project, and most importantly: he's never won an Oscar.

Calling Fincher "One of the greatest living directors right now" is a huge cliche for sure, but that doesn't make it untrue in the slightest.
To talk about Fincher and his work is to talk about the very best cinema has to offer: he can manipulate the camera to show as much visual information as he likes, directing and misdirecting a viewer's attention to key threads in a web full of deceivers and meticulously planning and plotting a scene even down to the subtlest movements and expressions of a character.
These elements (just to name a few) make up Fincher's body of work, spanning a relatively short time, considering other director's and how long it can take for them to find their own flavour of film (Spielberg, Nolan, Villeneuve).

This speedy understanding of the medium, that is quite specific, can only be found in only a few other filmmakers, such as Stanley Kubrick or even Edgar Wright, I've found.
There are some names that come to my mind that may reach this point at some time in their future, but these last few are the ones universally recognised as being the forefathers of their respected genres and themes today (Wright- Visual Comedy, Fincher- Tense Thriller and Kubrick- Dueling Forces) which prove how well they know (and knew) the medium.

But back to just Fincher, I think it's important to expand on what I said in my micro review of Alien^3.
David wasn't instantly a genius director with a full know-how on film with his first film, far from it, but we can see even from his first feature- length film that we had something special, and from then on we saw a change and a growth; culminating in important and convention- destroying films using social commentary and dark humour to get across a new view point to a shaken audience.
All this from an overly long movie about an acid- bleeding, four legged alien killing off boring characters.

I believe it's very noticeable how much better Fincher becomes with each new project he works on. He can adapt to so many styles, themes and genres while keeping that potential of information fully tapped, and can keep expanding on or evolving his own themes and conventions. By making each new production different and familiar, the audience can be wowed and comforted, and this is the best state for being shocked in.

David now has the scene of 'two people in a room talking' down to as clever and subtle as you possibly could by this point.
Mindhunter's four Fincher flourishes are excellent examples of how perfectly he can convey invisible exposition on any character by simply letting the camera follow their movements, mimicking how they move and ultimately telling us how this person acts in this specific setting through body language.

The slow panning camera as someone walks, the veering of focus as we learn some new info and the tightly choreographed pace are all hallmarks of this refined style, coordinating an experience uniquely belonging to Fincher.

Wednesday, 11 October 2017

Logan (2017) Review

Yeah, so I've only now just watched Logan, what a piss poor superhero fan I am, huh?
Well it was pretty great, and I hope we don't see Logan on the big screen again for a long time, and definitely not in the body of Hugh Jackman.
Logan could be what fans may call "the quintessential superhero movie" in the near future, I think. So many things point to it, the overwhelmingly positive reception, the final chapter in the book of a beloved character (and characters) and the dark, gritty, unforgiving nature of its tone that seems to work well with superhero movies if done well (see The Dark Knight and/or The Winter Soldier).
I'd like this to be the case for sure, because this film gets it.

The subtle theming of this film really accentuates that bottomless feeling of 'this is the end, isn't it?' through hints at a larger part of the story many years ago that lead to the downfall of many characters, literally and metaphorically.
The constant references to western movies (a genre that died because of over-saturation.. sound familiar?) adds to this feeling too. And by using settings that once were cowboy shoot out zones, that are now shopping malls and gas stations is another clever hint at what the director is trying to say about this genre ("Out with the old and in with the new, but is old still better?").

While I really admire the fresher themes in this film, I do miss the idea of Mutants being used as walking metaphors for oppression and rights, but seeing as there's hardly any "Mutes" left, I guess that wouldn't fit the film.

I had a few problems with the child performances, it seems hollywood still cannot get their own child actors to behave like real actors. But every other performance was pretty great and meaningful, Hugh and Sir Patrick the most, of course.

But really, this is one of the best superhero movies ever, and I'm very glad to see such a violent one too, with really seamless special effects to cement that into place.
Hopefully we get more movies like this and less like Deadpool.

Logan gets a gritty 8/10